top of page


The MATA Athletic Trainer Hall of Fame award is a prestigious honor that recognizes qualified MATA members for their exceptional and unique contributions to the athletic training profession. This is a State award, which reflects a lifetime of dedication to the Association and the field of athletic training on the state level.

MATA Hall of Fame Nominations must come from sponsors, who are to be individuals who live and/or work in the state of Maryland.

Eligibility: To be eligible for nomination, individuals must have 20 years certified membership in the NATA and have 10 years in the MATA. Current NATA Hall of Fame members will not be considered for the MATA Athletic Trainer Hall of Fame Award. Current MATA Officers are not eligible for the MATA Hall of Fame Award.  Candidates who are currently active members of the NATA must be in good standing with the BOC and the state regulatory act.

Nomination Procedures:  Members who wish to nominate a deserving colleague should submit the following information by email to Hall of Fame Committee Chair Marty Sataloff at

  • Nominators Name

  • Nominators Email

  • Nominators Phone

  • Nominees Name

  • Nominees Email

  • Nominees Phone

Upon receiving the nomination, the nominee will be sent the Nomination Application to be completed by the deadline contained within the application.

MATA Hall of Fame


Brian Ebel
Amy Magladry


Thaddeus Moore


Class of 2018

Peter Kotz


​Class of 2015

Steve Kinsey


Class of 2012

Neil MacDonald


​Class of 2010

Lori Bristow

Gail Parr


​Class of 2009

Gary Horsman

Paul Welliver

Tony Zaloga


​Class of 2008

Richie Bancells

John Bielawski

Class of 2007

Marty Sataloff


Class of 2006

Dr. Joe Martire

Terry O'Brien

Red Romo


Inaugural Class of 2005

Ed Block

JJ Bush

Ray Chronister

Pat Lamboni

John Lopez

Ralph Salvon

Dr. Dan Welliver

bottom of page